• German
  • English

Quetsch ‘n’ Vibes combines diverse musical worlds. Traditional folk music, embodied by the styrian harmonica, coalesces masterfully with the jazzy sounds of the vibraphone, the earthiness of the marimba, and many other exotic instruments. This encounter releases a stream of new sounds and colours, on which the trio skillfully navigates this diverse musical terrain.

Jonny Kölbl

Jonny Kölbl

Styrian Harmonica, Percussion

Jonny can mainly be be heard on the styrian harmonica but has much more to offer: as a percussionist (student of jazz percussion in Graz) he brings the requisite groove to “Quetsch ‘n’ Vibes”, primarily on drums built in his own workshop under the name “Joko Drums”. A real all-rounder, Jonny lends his talent to many other bands and ensembles as a drummer and harmonica-player.

Website


Leo Waltersdorfer

Leo Waltersdorfer

Vibraphone, Percussion

Alongside his seat in the stage orchestra of the Vienna State Opera, Leo is a guest musician in many other orchestras, including the Vienna Philharmonic and the Graz Philharmonic. In Questch ‘n’ Vibes he can be heard primarily on the vibraphone, for which he writes numerous pieces that are played worldwide. But RAV-drums and mbira also feature in his repertoire.

Website


Hannes Schöggl

Hannes Schöggl

Marimba, Percussion

As the winner of the 1st prize and Grand Prix de Marimba at the Drumfest in Russia (2016), Hannes is the marimba specialist in this distinguished troop. He is a teacher, soloist and active member of numerous contemporary ensembles (Ensemble XX. Jahrhundert, among others). But Hannes’ skillful mastery of the notorious “Teufelsgeige” (devil’s fiddle) proves he hasn’t forgotten his styrian roots.

• Deutsch
  • Englisch

Quetsch 'n' Vibes verbindet verschiedene musikalische Welten miteinander. Die Volksmusik, die durch die Steirische Harmonika verkörpert wird, verschmilzt hierbei gekonnt mit dem jazzigen Sound des Vibraphons, den erdigen Marimba-Klängen und vielen weiteren exotischen Instrumenten. Aus dieser Begegnung entspringt ein Fluss aus neuen Klängen und Farben, auf welchem das Trio geschickt zwischen den verschiedenen musikalischen Welten navigiert.

Jonny Kölbl

Jonny Kölbl

Steirische Harmonika, Percussion

Auch wenn Jonny bei Quetsch ‘n’ Vibes hauptsächlich an der Steirischen Harmonika zu hören ist, hat er noch viel mehr zu bieten: als Schlagzeuger (Jazzstudium in Graz) liefert er auch den nötigen Groove, vorzugsweise auf Trommeln, welche in einer hauseigenen Werkstatt unter dem Namen “Joko Drums” selbst gebaut werden. Als Tausendsassa ist Jonny natürlich noch in unzähligen weiteren Bands als Schlagzeuger und/oder “Harmonikist” aktiv.

Website


Leo Waltersdorfer

Leo Waltersdorfer

Vibraphon, Percussion

Neben seinem Engagement im Bühnenorchester der Wiener Staatsoper ist Leo in vielen anderen Orchestern in Österreich (z.B. den Wiener Philharmonikern und den Grazer Philharmonikern) zu Gast. Bei Quetsch ‘n’ Vibes ist er hauptsächlich am Vibraphon zu hören, für welches er auch zahlreiche, weltweit gespielte Stücke komponiert. Doch auch RAV-Drums und Mbira zählen zu seinen Werkzeugen.

Website


Hannes Schöggl

Hannes Schöggl

Marimba, Percussion

Hannes ist als Gewinner des “1st Prize and Grand Prix de Marimba” beim Drumfest Russia (2016) der Marimba-Spezialist in dieser illustren Runde. Als Pädagoge ist er genauso aktiv wie als Solist und als Mitglied in verschiedenen Ensembles für zeitgenössische Musik (z.B. Ensemble XX. Jahrhundert). Doch auch seine steirischen Wurzeln hat er nicht verloren, was er bei Quetsch ‘n’ Vibes auch durch seine Fertigkeiten an der berühmt-berüchtigten Teufelsgeige unter Beweis stellt.